GTG was proud to be the Belfast venue for We Are Invisible We Are Visible on 02 July 2022, thirty different interventions by artists who identify as D/deaf, disabled or neurodivergent staged simultaneously at galleries across the UK. We hosted artist Porcelain Delaney in our Project Space, for her beautiful and powerful performance, The Parade of the Disregarded.

WAIWAV marked the 102nd anniversary of the 1st International Dada Exhibition. Dada was an art movement formed in response to the horror and recklessness of the First World War. WAIWAV channels the defiant and absurdist spirit of the Dada movement, purposefully provoking people to reflect on the societal barriers that continue to restrict and exclude disabled people today.

As part of the Ampersand Award winning WAIWAV, DASH commissioned award-winning film maker Justin Edgar to create a new film from footage of the performances.

Edgar is an advocate for better representation of disabled people both in front of and behind the camera. Edgar himself was diagnosed as hard of hearing as a teenager. He describes this piece as ‘a Dadaist film for the digital age, which will eviscerate the interventions and reassemble them in random order’ – this film both captures and celebrates artists with disabilities or neurodivergence whose practice is often invisible in wider society.

WAIWAV participating museums and galleries:  

Arnolfini, Baltic, Centre for Contemporary Art, Firstsite, Focal point, Golden Thread Gallery, Grizedale Arts,  Glynn Vivian Art Gallery,  Harris Museum and Art Gallery, Home, The Hepworth Wakefield, Ikon Gallery, John Hansard Gallery, Leeds Art Gallery, Liverpool Biennial, Manchester Art Gallery, MIMA, MK Gallery, Modern Art Oxford, Newlyn, Nottingham Contemporary, The Pier Arts Centre, Site Gallery, Tate Britain, Tate Liverpool, Tate Modern, Tate St Ives, Towner, Turner Contemporary and VOID              

Participating Artists:      

AIM (Art In Motion); Lisette Auton;  Mianam Bashir/Emma Powell; Cheryl Beer; Alex Billingham; Sonia Boué; Caroline Cardus; Luke ‘Luca’ Cockayne; Jenette Coldrick;  Dora Colquhoun; Grace Currie;  Porcelain Delaney; Alistair Gentry; gobscure; Anahita Harding;  Tony Heaton/ Terry Smith; Hayley Hindle; April Lin 林森; Christina Lovey; Stav Meishar; Sam Metz; Chisato Minamimura; Andrea Mindel; Ashokkumar Mistry; Jo Munton/Stephanie Finegan; Bel Pye; Alice Quarterman; Chris Tally Evans; Kristina Veasey; Nicola Woodham; Aaron Williamson.

Golden Thread Gallery is supported by: